Winners will be announced here and through the EST social media profiles by January 28, 2022.

There will be three prizes:

  • The two best designs will win a trip to Tenerife (Canary Islands, Spain) to visit Teide Observatory and the European solar telescopes in operation there.
  • The third prize will be an H-Alpha solar telescope for observations of the solar chromosphere. It will remain the property of the school.

The trip will take place around Easter (mid April 2022). If the COVID-19 pandemic does not allow travel at that time, the trips will be replaced by an advanced H-Alpha solar telescope for each winning school, of the same value as the trip.

There are four solar telescopes currently in operation at Teide Observatory. The winning teams will visit all of them:

  • GREGOR, owned by the Leibniz-Institut für Sonnenphysik (KIS).
  • Solar Lab, owned by the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC).
  • THÉMIS, owned by the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS).
  • Vacuum Tower Telescope, owned by the Leibniz-Institut für Sonnenphysik (KIS).


Panoramic view of Observatorio del Teide (Tenerife). The two large towers in the foreground are the Newton Solar Telescope and GREGOR.  


See the complete gallery of solar telescopes across Europe here