Governing Bodies


The three governing bodies of the EST Foundation are the Board of Trustees, the Executive Committee, and the Director.


Board of Trustees


The Board of Trustees is the governing body that represents the Foundation and exercises all the powers necessary to achieve the Foundation's aims. The trustees are defined in the deeds (where the president and vice-president are also identified) and the rules for changing its composition and positions are described in the EST Foundation statutes. The Board of Trustees designates the secretary and may also designate a deputy-secretary.

  • President: Manuel Collados (ES)
  • Vice-president: Peter Gömöry (SK)
  • Secretary: Alejandra Martín (ES)



Rafael Rebolo

Instituto de Astrofrísica de Canarias (IAC)

Director of the IAC. He obtained his doctorate in astrophysics from the Universidad de la Laguna. He has developed research projects in cosmology, stellar physics and exoplanets, involving the study of the cosmic microwave background, the characterization of sub-stellar objects and black holes and the search for Earth-like exoplanets.


Manuel Collados

President. Instituto de Astrofrísica de Canarias (IAC)

Full professor at the Universidad de la Laguna and senior researcher of the IAC. He has been the principal investigator for the developments of the Tenerife Infrared Polarimeter, installed at the German VTT, and of the spectrograph GRIS operating at the German telescope GREGOR. He has served as coordinator of the EU-funded H2020 projects GREST and PRE-EST.


Casiana Muñoz

Instituto de Astrofrísica de Canarias (IAC)

Deputy director of the IAC. She holds a degree in Physics and a PhD in Physics. She has organised and directed the Starburst Research Team on Galaxy Formation and Evolution and is an expert in the characterisation of the Atmosphere for Astronomical Observatorie. She has promoted and led the Site Characterisation Group of the Observatorios de Canarias.


Francisco Javier Moreno-Fuentes

Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC)

Senior researcher at the Institute for Public Good and Policies of the CSIC. Master in Social Sciences from the Juan March Institute, MSc in Social Policy from the LSE, and PhD in Political Science. His areas of interest are the comparative analysis of public policies, with a special focus on immigration, healthcare and urban policies. Vicepresident for CSIC International Affairs.


Luis Bellot

Instituto de Astrofísica de Andalucía (IAA-CSIC)

Senior researcher at the IAA. He was the head of the Solar System Department of IAA from 2013 to 2018. Currently he serves as the EST Communications Office head. He is co-investigator on the Solar Orbiter mission and is also involved in the SUNRISE and Hinode missions.


Jorrit Leenaarts

Stockholm University

Professor of solar physics at Stockholm University. He is the director of the Institute for Solar Physics, which operates the Swedish 1-m Solar Telescope on La Palma.


Sami Solanki

Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research (MPS)

Solar physicist and director at the MPS in Germany. He leads the international SUNRISE mission and is the principal investigator of the SO/PHI instrument on the Solar Orbiter mission, as well as being co-investigator of a number of further space instruments. He has received numerous awards, most recently the Hale prize of the American Astronomical Society.


Jozef Bruls

Institute for Solar Physics (KIS)

Theoretical solar physics expert. He currently holds the positions of interim scientific director and board member at the Institute for Solar Physics (KIS). Additionally, he serves as the interim department head for observatories and instrumentation, with a specialization in radiative transfer.


Svetlana Berdyugina

Università de la Svizzera italiana (USI-IRSOL)

Master of Science with honors and Doctor of Philosophy from the Saint-Petersburg State University. She serves as director at Istituto ricerche solari Aldo e Cele Daccò (IRSOL).


Jan Jurčák

Astronomical Institute of the Czech Academy of Science (ASU)

Senior scientist at the ASU. Since 2022, he is the head of the Solar Physics Department of ASU and also the vice-chair of the ASU Council. He is the head of the EST-CZ project that is on the Czech roadmap of large research infrastructures and corresponds to a national node of the EST infrastructure. He focuses on analysis of spectropolarimetric observations of the solar photosphere.


Peter Gömöry

Vice-President. Astronomical Institute of the Slovak Academy of Sciences

Director of the Astronomical Institute of the Slovak Academy of Sciences since 2019. The main field of his scientific activity is the research of physical processes in the solar atmosphere. He gives lectures on solar physics at two universities in Slovakia.


Robertus Erdelyi

University of Sheffield

He holds a MSc in physics, astronomy and history. He obtained a PhD in applied mathematics in 1995 from the K.U. Leuven, and holds a CSc degree in astrophysics (1996, Hungarian Academy of Sciences). His main fields of research are solar MHD waves and oscillations, solar theory, and space weather forecasting.


Philippe A. Bourdin

University of Graz

Philippe Bourdin currently works as a group leader in computational solar physics at the Institute of Physics, University of Graz. His major topics are magneto-hydrodynamic simulations of the solar corona and particle-kinetic simulations of magnetic reconnection, as well as in-situ observations of the electro-motive force during solar storms.


Alejandra Martín

Secretary Non Trustee. Administrator. Instituto de Astrofrísica de Canarias (IAC)

RTD manager with keen knowledge on management of RIs and EU RTD funding schemes, and more than 15 years of working experience at the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias and its observatories, as well as at the Spanish Office for Science and Technology in Brussels. She was the project manager of the EU-funded H2020 projects GREST and PRE-EST.























Executive Committee


The main function of the Executive Committee is the examination of all documentation to verify compliance with the Budget and the Explanatory Report and the adoption of the appropriate measures to correct any deviations that may occur.

The Executive Committee is formed by the president of the Board of Trustees, who chairs it, the vice-president, and at least one other trustee, appointed by agreement of the Board of Trustees. The secretary of the Executive Committee is the same person as the secretary of the Board of Trustees, and has the right to speak but not to vote. The Executive Committee meetings are attended by the director of the Foundation, with the right to speak but not to vote.




The director of the Foundation is in charge of the affairs and good running of the Foundation. This position is appointed by the Board of Trustees. The director attends the meetings of the Board of Trustees, the Executive Committee and the Advisory Council,  with voice but without a vote.



Hector Socas Navarro

Director. Instituto de Astrofrísica de Canarias (IAC)

Senior researcher at the IAC. He spent 9 years at the High Altitude Observatory (US), where he led the construction of the spectropolarimeter SPINOR and participated in the SDO and Hinode missions. From 2008 to 2018, he served as the EST project scientist. Then he was appointed director of the Museum of Science and the Cosmos of Tenerife until the end of 2023.